K is for Kirsty

Ok – you have to imagine this from the point of view of a nurse on the ward expectantly awaiting the queen of all nutters to arrive.
I have little doubt that Dr Ali had been round telling everyone that I was a mad cow. My suspicions were first raised when she addressed me as a mad cow and then later when she kindly popped up to the ward and introduced me as “the mad cow” to a rather attractive blonde nurse.
Remember that at this point I had had no pain relief for over 24 hours; I had broken ribs that were deflating my lungs; I was making a mooing sound each time my lungs deflated; I couldn’t escape from the wheelchair and my broken arm wasn’t helping matters.

Excerpt of email sent to GMC –

Unfortunately, A&E hadn’t told the ward that I had broken ribs
deflating my lungs and that was why I was in a wheelchair.

Picture the scene…

….the poor nursing staff, obviously warned that a nutter was on the
way, had lined up for my arrival and I didn’t disappoint them.

They wanted me out of the wheelchair. I kept refusing and asking for
help. They were very stand-offish.
I was getting cross trying to make them understand how badly hurt I was.
As I was getting more and more cross, I started to get physically
agitated and kept mooing as my broken rib repeatedly hit my lung.

So, my arrival heralded a complete nutter, fantasist – there was no
way they could have comprehended, let alone believed what I had been
through – who was a hypochondriac – as they didn’t know I had only
had 2 x 10mg codine – who mooed when she moved.

( Correction wrote codine by mistake: cohydromol 2 x 10mg)

Complete e-mail below
Kirsty Epps

7 Mar

to sherriden.speakman@gmc-uk.org.
Marion – the Annie Zulz ward sister on 18.02.2016 – was brought a
piece of paper by a nurse and Marion ask who asked me if I was a Mad
Cow. I gave her a description and then she said, “Are you always
asked this?”
This completely through me and I knew that something was seriously wrong.

After spending 8 hours incarcerated in A&E with no pain relief (only 2
X 10mg codine)
I went catatonic when I arrived on the ward. I was so cross.

Unfortunately, A&E hadn’t told the ward that I had broken ribs
deflating my lungs and that was why I was in a wheelchair.

Picture the scene…

….the poor nursing staff, obviously warned that a nutter was on the
way, had lined up for my arrival and I didn’t disappoint them.

They wanted me out of the wheelchair. I kept refusing and asking for
help. They were very stand-offish.
I was getting cross trying to make them understand how badly hurt I was.
As I was getting more and more cross, I started to get physically
agitated and kept mooing as my broken rib repeatedly hit my lung.

So, my arrival heralded a complete nutter, fantasist – there was no
way they could have comprehended, let alone believed what I had been
through – who was a hypochondriac – as they didn’t know I had only
had 2 x 10mg codine – who mooed when she moved.

And guess what. When I received my bundle. Instead of saying that I
had depression, it says “Bipolar”.
I’ve my past medical history (200 pages) and not one mention of a
diagnosis of bipolar or any psychotic illness.

Please don’t let this happen again. The hospital have already wasted a year.

Leave a Reply

